Employees Retirement Board

Employees Retirement Board
c/ o Human Resources Department
725 Old Post Road
Fairfield, CT 06824


The Employees Retirement Board oversees the management of the town employee retirement fund.  Members also sit on the Joint Retirement Investment Board.

The Employees Retirement Board generally meets the fourth Wednesday of the month at 6:45 pm, both virtually and in a conference room in The Honorable John J. Sullivan Independence Hall, 725 Old Post Road.  All schedules and locations are subject to change. Please check the Town Meetings Calendar for cancellations or location changes.

About the Employees Retirement Board

Term Length: Five Years (Two Term Limit)
# of Members: Nine
Appointing Body: First Selectman with RTM Approval
Party Balance Required?: Required for Non-employees
Defined In: Town Code - Chapter 37


The Employees Retirement Board oversees the management of the town employee retirement fund.

Powers and Duties

Duties include:

  • Having charge of the general direction and management of the fund. Any portion of the fund may be invested by one or more trust companies or banks authorized to conduct trust business in the state or may be deposited in a savings bank or trust company or state of national bank in this state or used to purchase life insurance or endowment policies or annuity contracts issued by a life insurance company authorized to do business in the state.
  • The town shall provide such clerical, legal, actuarial, or medical assistance as board members require to carry out their duties.
  • The fiscal officer will act as executive secretary to the Employees’ Retirement Board members but have no vote as a member.
Employees Retirement Board Member Listing 

Name (Party) Title Term
Nicholas J. Leeper (D)    11/2022 - 11/2027
Carolyn Trabuco (D) 2024 Chair     11/2023 - 11/2028
Eric S. Newman (D)   11/2019 - 11/2024
Kevin A. Sjodin (R)   11/2020 - 11/2025
James B. Brown (R)       11/2021 - 11/2026
Suzanne Kuroghlian Admin Employee Rep  
Russell Atkins Town Employee Rep       
Christopher Brand BOE Rep      
William A. Gerber First Selectman