Board of Library Trustees

Board of Library Trustees
c/o Fairfield Public Library
1080 Old Post Road
Fairfield, CT 06824


The Board of Library Trustees oversees operations and property of the Town's libraries.


The Board of Library Trustees generally meets the third Monday of the month at both virtually and at the Main Library, 1080 Old Post Road. All schedules and locations are subject to change. Please check the Town Meetings Calendar for cancellations or location changes.

About the Board of Library Trustees

Term Length: Six Years (One Term)
# of Members: Six
Appointing Body: Board of Library Trustees with Approval from Board of Selectmen
Party Balance Required?: Yes
Defined In: Town Charter - Article X


The Board of Library Trustees oversees operations and property of the town’s libraries.

Powers and Duties

Duties include:

  • Managing, controlling, maintaining, and operating all property of the Town devoted to library purposes, except such property under the jurisdiction of the Board of Education
  • Establishing and  enforcing reasonable fines and penalties for the violation of its rules and regulations
  • Providing for the rental of books, periodicals, motion pictures, exhibits, or other library facilities
  • Turning over money which may be collected in the enforcement of fines and penalties to the Town Treasurer
  • Appointing a town librarian with approval of the First Selectman and appointing assistant librarians and other employees as necessary
  • Determining duties, terms of service, and compensation of library employees
  • Purchasing books, periodicals, publications, materials and supplies as needed
  • Accepting and using private donations
Board of Library Trustees Member Listing

# Name (Party) Title Term
1 Christopher A. Rogers (U)   07/01/2018 - 06/30/2024
2 Stefanie E. Borsari (D)   07/01/2019 - 06/30/2025 (Appointed by BOS on 05/01/24 to serve remainder of term)
3 Andrew G. Minea (U) Chair  07/01/2020 - 06/30/2026
4 Peter T. Willner (D)   07/01/2021 - 06/30/2027
5 Erin L. Harrigan (D)  Treasurer 07/01/2022 - 06/30/2028
6 May S. Bayer (D) Secretary 07/01/2023 - 06/30/2029
TTREAS David M. Kanter Town Treasurer & Ex-Officio Member of Bd. of Lib. Trustees