Fire Commission

Fire Commission
c/o Fire Department Headquarters
140 Reef Road
Fairfield, CT 06824


The Fire Commission has general management and supervision of the Fire Department and of all property and equipment used by or in connection with the operation of the department.


The Fire Commission generally meets the second Thursday of each month at 7:00 pm both virtually and at the Fairfield Regional Fire School, 205 Richard White Way (formerly 205 One Rod Highway).  All schedules and locations are subject to change. Please check the Town Meetings Calendar for cancellations or location changes.


The Fire Commissions works with the Fire Chief on matters concerning and affecting the fire department.

Powers and Duties

Duties include:

  • Managing and supervising the Fire Department and all property and equipment used by or in connection with the operation for he department, including hydrants used for fire purposes
  • Making rules and regulations consistent with the general statutes and the Town Charter to govern the Fire Department and its personnel
  • Prescribing penalties for violations of its rules and regulations
  • Appointing the fire chief
  • Appointing and promoting to all positions in the Fire Department, subject to the provisions of the Town Charter
  • Determining qualifications for each rank and grade in the Fire Department.
  • Based on appropriations, determining the number of persons employed by the department and the ranks and grades of their compensation.

Duties may include:

  • During the absence or disability of the fire chief, designating a member of the department as Acting Fire Chief.
Fire Commission Member Listing

# Name (Party) Title Term  
1 Virginia A. Klinga (D) Commissioner

11/2022 - 11/2027

(Appointed at 01/09/23 BOS meeting)


2 Michael Finneran (U)  Commissioner

11/2022 - 11/2027 

(Appointed at 01/09/23 BOS meeting)

Mike Finn

3 William M. Burke (D) 2024 Chair 11/2023 - 11/2028 Burke 25
4 Rob Scinto (R) Commissioner 11/2019 - 11/2024 Commissioner Robert Scinto 1
5 Dorothea E. Brennan (R) Commissioner 11/2020 - 11/2025 Brennan
6 Alex Plitsas (R) 2024 Secretary 02/2021 - 11/2025 Alex Plitsas
7 Joseph Olzacki (R) Commissioner  11/2021 - 11/2026 Olzacki