Fairfield COVID Data Page

12/18/2014 - Fairfield Selectmen Announce 2014 Fairfielder and Town Employee Winners

On Wednesday, December 17, 2014, the Fairfield Board of Selectmen announced the 2014 Employee of the Year and Fairfielder of the Year award winners. This year marks the 11th year the Selectmen have conducted these awards.

Two independent committees had reviewed all submitted applications and then recommend finalists for each award to the Board of Selectmen who selected the final winners—Craig Kimball for Employee of the Year and Peter Penczer for Fairfielder of the Year.

Families, friends and co-workers gathered at the Board of Selectmen’s meeting to support the winners whose names are engraved on a plaque that hangs in the first floor lobby of Independence Hall along with the names of previous winners.

The primary criteria for Employee of the Year Award are service and job performance that goes beyond the daily work of the individual and that benefits Fairfield’s government and community. Basic criteria includes, but is not limited to, performance excellence, reliability and dependability, initiative, integrity, judgment, cooperation and spirit, outstanding public service and unique contributions to improve government services

Craig Kimball’s three nominators captured his outstanding qualities as Public Safety IT Specialist in their nomination forms. One nominator wrote, “Craig has helped almost everyone at Town Hall with their computer issues with, I’m sure, close to 100% satisfaction.” Another nominator wrote, “Craig has been responsible for bringing a lot of unity for all employees by organizing the Town’s first Wiffle Ball Tournament in honor of Fairfield’s 375th anniversary. He is well liked by all for his technical expertise as well.” A third nominator stated, “Craig’s job performance is excellent. He is reliable, cooperative and team spirited.”

The primary criteria for the Fairfielder of the Year Award are personal time, energy and talent of service to the residents of Fairfield, and/or society in general, that promotes and improves the life and vitality of our town. Basic criteria includes, but is not limited to, outstanding volunteer commitment that benefits an individual, group or the entire community of Fairfield, unique achievement that benefits our community or society in general, a model citizen who reflects the positive values of the Town of Fairfield, and exceptional personal qualities, including, but not limited to, leadership, initiative, reliability, dependability, integrity and cooperation and spirit.

Peter Penczer’s two nominators summed up his special qualifications. One nominator stated, “Peter has been a pillar of the community for many years. Peter’s involvement in charitable and community activities is second to none.” Another nominator wrote, “I cannot think of a more deserving recipient for this award. Peter was born and raised in Fairfield. He has so much knowledge of this community and should be marked as a town treasure. He is giving of his time and talent and has been volunteering for many decades. He has served on many boards and commissions, both Town (he is currently the Chair of the Fairfield Economic Development Commission) and non-profits such as the Fairfield Rotary Club and Rotary International, the Fairfield Museum and History Center and the Fairfield Theatre Company, to name a few. Above all, he is a gentleman.”

First Selectman Mike Tetreau said, “Each year, the Board of Selectmen is proud to receive nominations from town and school employees and people throughout our community. I want to thank all the people who sent in nominations for these Awards this year, as well as the award committee members and my Selectman colleagues. Most of all, I wholeheartedly congratulate and thank Craig Kimball and Peter Penczer for their outstanding contributions to our Town!”

The photo shows from left to right: 2014 Fairfielder of the Year Winner Peter Penczer, Selectman Kevin Kiley, First Selectman Mike Tetreau, 2014 Town Employee of the Year Winner Craig Kimball and Selectman Cristin McCarthy Vahey.