Fairfield COVID Data Page

10/12/2018 - Connecticut’s American Institute of Architects Bestows Pequot Library with 2018 CT Treasures Award

The votes are in on the public's favorite Connecticut library building—Pequot Library! To celebrate this honor bestowed upon by the Connecticut Chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) and voted on by the public throughout the State of Connecticut, Pequot Library held a celebration on Tuesday that included Gina Calabro, Executive Director of AIA Connecticut, AIA CT’s Kristen Leigh and Amy Zemel, Pequot Library’s Executive Director Stephanie J. Coakley, Fairfield First Selectman Mike Tetreau, Fairfield Community and Economic Development Director Mark Barnhart, Pequot Library staff, supporters and members of its Board of Directors. Connecticut State Troubadour Nekita Waller also attended and sang her 2018 “Connecticut Anthem.”

AIA Connecticut’s annual People’s Choice online awards program is a state-wide competition that runs each year. The public serves as jury and has the opportunity to appreciate and learn more about the role of architecture in their area. AIA Connecticut is the professional association for Connecticut architects. It serves the architectural profession, encourages design excellence, and works to improve society through a concern for the quality of the built and natural environments.

The 2018 Connecticut Treasures Award was awarded to Pequot Library for its iconic Romanesque Revival building which was designed by architect Robert Henderson Robertson. The Library opened to the public in March 1894 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Fairfield’s First Selectman Mike Tetreau stated, “Fairfield is honored to have this vital gem in our community—one that draws in people of all ages for its magnificent programs. I applaud Pequot Library for winning this prestigious award and in doing so showing the State of Connecticut what a destination location we have in Fairfield, Connecticut.”

Pequot Library was founded by Southport, CT residents Virginia Marquand Monroe (1837 – 1926) and Elbert B. Monroe (1836 – 1894) and is one of the oldest public association libraries in New England. Nearly 2,900 votes were cast in the online Connecticut Treasures Award contest in July, and more than 50 percent of them (1,483) were for Pequot Library, one of Fairfield's cultural beacons. Chester Public Library came in second, and Hotchkiss Library in Sharon finished third. Pequot Library is known for its distinctive columns and three arches marking the main entrance along with the Ludowici-tiled roof. The stone/granite façade and ironwork stacks make a unique impression. The glass-tile floor and Tiffany windows welcome visitors, the auditorium is acoustically renowned with its sweeping overhead redwood beams, and in the winter, patrons enjoy reading by a glowing wood fire. Pequot Library is a full-service public association library educating and enriching people of all ages through literature, music, art, science, and the humanities for over 125 years with more than 500 annual programs. Pequot integrates its Special Collections of rare books, manuscripts, and archives into its day-to-day services to the community through exhibitions, programs, and hands-on classes and workshops.

Pequot’s Executive Director, Stephanie J. Coakley added, “Thank you so much to all who voted for Pequot Library. The Library is fortunate to have such a supportive community of patrons who clearly love their library!”

Please visit www.pequotlibrary.org to learn more about this vibrant library, educational, arts and cultural institution. Follow Pequot Library on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

For more information, please contact Adair W. Heitmann, Director of Communications, at (203) 259-0346 ext. 120 or heitmann@pequotlibrary.org.

Photo Left to Right: Fairfield Community and Economic Development Director Mark Barnhart, Fairfield First Selectman Mike Tetreau, Pequot Library Executive Director Stephanie J. Coakley, AIA CT Chapter Director Gina Calabro, AIA CT’s Kristen Leigh and Amy Zemel, Pequot’s Director of Communications Adair Heitmann and Connecticut State Troubador Nekita Waller.