bg
Government > Boards & Commissions > Charter Revision Commission > Charter Revision Commission Meeting Schedule

Charter Revision Commission Meeting Schedule

All Charter Revision Commission meetings are open to the public and are held virtually. 

2021 Regular Meetings Notes
 Wednesday, September 22 Organizational Meeting
 Wednesday, October 6 First Statutory Public Hearing: C.G.S. §7-1919(a) and Approval of Commission Schedule
 Thursday, October 14 CRC Due Diligence: Meeting with Department Heads and Appointed Boards and Commissions Public Officials
 Thursday, October 28 CRC Due Diligence: Redline and Review Session with Town Attorney Baldwin and Commission Counsel Mednick
Monday, November 8 CRC Due Diligence: Public Officials and Continued Red-Line Session (11/11 is a holiday) 
Tuesday, November 16 CRC Level Set Meeting: Where Do We Go From Here? (11/25 is a holiday)
Thursday, December 9 Continuation of Level Set Meeting
Tuesday, December 21 Cancelled
All 2022 Meetings Begin 7:00 pm Unless Otherwise Noted   2022 Topics 
Thursday, January 13 Public Comment on Adopted Work Plan (7pm-8pm) followed by CRC regular meeting. Topic: Town Budgeting Process 
Thursday, January 27 Town Governance Issues:
a. Keynote: Joe DeLong, Exec. Dir. & CEO, Connecticut Conference of Municipalities (CCM)
b. Panel Discussion and Dialogue: Professors Gary Rose & Gayle Alberda of Sacred Heart and Fairfield Universities, respectively.
c. Background Document #3

CRC Discussion: Budget Article X – Background Document #5 and Article X Redline

Thursday, February 10  Panel Discussion on Town Governance: Representatives of Connecticut municipalities featuring alternative Governance Models: First Selectperson/RTM; Mayor/Council; and Council/Manager
Thursday, February 24 Meeting Topic II: CRC Working Session and Discussion on Governance
Counsel Report: Non-partisan RTM elections.
Thursday, March 10 - SPECIAL MEETING WITH PUBLIC COMMENT BEGINS 6:00 PM; REGULAR MEETING BEGINS 7 PM.   Meeting Topic II: Public Comment on Governance Issues.
Meeting Topic III: Miscellaneous Issues – Part A: Minority Party Representation; Constables; Commencement of Terms of Elected Officials and RTM; Resignations and Vacancies(TBD) 
Thursday, March 24 Presentation of Governance Model by Counsel: Action Item #3 and Discussion of Remaining Agenda: Comment Grid Update 
Monday, April 4 - Special Meeting - 7 pm   -Discuss and Finalize Governance Model – Action Item #3
-Discuss Resignations and Vacancies – Action Item #2
-Discuss Remaining CRC Meeting Schedule & Coordinate with Work Plan  
Thursday, April 14 - Special Meeting - 6 pm Meeting Topic IV: Department Issues; Qualifications, “For Cause” and Term of Office for Department Heads; Town Attorney; CFO; DPW/WPCA  Alignment; Police Chief Residency 
Monday, April 25 - Special Meeting - 4:30 pm   Meeting Topic IV – Proposed Action Item #4
Articles VIII and IX (to be presented at meeting)
- Police Chief residency
- Department Issues
- Qualifications
- Term of Office and “For Cause” standard
- Town Attorney/Assistant Town Attorney
- DPW/WPCA Alignment
- Police, Fire, Conservation and Tax
Thursday, April 28 - CANCELLED
Wednesday, May 11 - Special Meeting - 7 pm -Further discussion: Revised Action Item #3: Articles II – VII
-Further discussion: Revised Action Item #1 Budget
-Further discussion: Meeting Topic IV – Proposed Action Item #4 (Articles VIII and IX) 
Thursday, May 12 - Regular Meeting - 7 pm  -Complete work on Action Items #1,3 & 4
-Board of Education
-Cooperation Provision
-Uniform Creation Standards
-Specific Board and Commission Issues
-Remainder of the Schedule
Tuesday, May 17 - Special Meeting - 4:30 pm - 6:30 pm   -Article IX - 9.16 (formerly 10.17) Board of Library Trustees – Clarification – Scott Jarzombek, Town Librarian
-Further Discussion of Article X – Budget Procedure & Related Matters
-Further Discussion of Town Charter 
Wednesday, May 25 - Special Meeting - 7 pm   Continuation of Final Actions Prior to Public Hearing on 06/02/22
Thursday, June 2 - Special Meeting - Public Hearing  Topic and Time TBA 

Agendas can be viewed here

Minutes can be viewed here