About Fairfield > Form of Government > Form of Government

Form of Government

The executive branch of Fairfield’s town government consists of a three-member Board of Selectmen with the First Selectwoman being the town’s highest-ranking official. The legislative body in town is the 50-member Representative Town Meeting (RTM). Town residents are divided into ten districts and voters in each district elect five RTM members who vote on their behalf.

A variety of elected and appointed Boards and Commissions meet regularly to make rules and decisions that govern the town departments. Boards and Commissions also dictate many other things around town, among them beach, dump, and parking fees; placement of road signs; how land, water, and facilities can be utilized; and what programs that affect the town will be enacted.

Town citizens have plenty of opportunity to get involved. A number of Advisory Committees, Coalitions and Task Forces, comprised of appointed volunteers, meet, research, and attempt to find solutions to topics that affect town life, then present their findings and solutions to town boards and/or officials for further action.

Please visit the Government section of our website for more detailed information.